Build Your Skills with Research Toolkit Workshops

The University Libraries have designed 8 new workshops to improve student research skills! They are part of the Research Toolkit Series.  Workshops are free and will be offered throughout the fall term to Wright State students.  Register online.  For more information, contact the University Libraries’ Information Desk at 775-2925, or Ask A Librarian.


ResearchToolkit_FULLCOLORResearch Toolkit Workshops
:

  • 3 Simple Steps to Reading a Scholarly Article
  • Detecting CRAAP:  Evaluating Information Sources
  • Finding that “Perfect Source”
  • Google Like a Pro 
  • How Do I Find This Reference?
  • Integrating Your Sources
  • More Than Books: What the Library Can Do for You
  • Stop Searching and Start Finding

The series evolved from the discussion of a research report, Learning the Ropes: How Freshmen Conduct Course Research Once They Enter College, published in December 2013 by Project Information Literary.  This report presents findings about the challenges of today’s first-year college students. Transitioning from completing high school assignments to doing college-level research emerges as one of the most formidable challenges that incoming freshmen face.

As we talked about the results, we found that many of the issues students in the study expressed mirrored those we had observed in Wright State students.  We were also curious to see how these data compared to the data we collected from English Composition classes that our librarians visited over the 2013-2014 academic year.  After working through our results, we saw many intriguing similarities and differences, which led us to create the Research Toolkit series responding to students’ biggest challenges with the research process.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New Books: August Edition

We added over 1,500 new books and ebooks this month. Below are few suggestions. Click here for a full list.

download (1)The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail : a Novel

By Richard Peck
Illustrated by Kelly Murphy
Part of our Children’s Collection aimed at educators and located on the fourth floor of Dunbar Library, Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest.
Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3750924~S7

 

JacketStudies of Communication in the 2012 Presidential Campaign

Edited by Robert E. Denton, Jr
This diverse and unique collection of essays examines the role of communication in various aspects of the 2012 presidential campaign. Topics include the early campaign and Romney’s nomination battle, candidate image, the rhetoric and campaigning of Michelle Obama and Ann Romney, issues of race, persuasive appeals to voters, the use of music and social media, and Obama’s second inaugural address.

Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3751692~S7

 

download (2)A World of Ideas : Essential Readings for College Writers

Edited by: Lee A. Jacobus
The first and bestselling reader of its kind, A World of Ideas introduces students to great thinkers whose ideas have shaped civilizations throughout history. When students hear names like Aristotle, Martin Luther King, Jr., or Sigmund Freud, they recognize the author as important — and they rise to the challenge of engaging with the text and evaluating it critically.

Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3749675~S7

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Love Your Library, Take a Tour and Enter to Win!

WELCOME WEEK TOURS

Welcome to our new and returning students!  Want to find out what your university library has to offer? Take a brief (1/2 hr) tour and learn about the services, spaces, and helpful people of Wright State’s Dunbar Library.  New this year is a contest drawing! After the tour, submit a “selfie” of you in the place in the library you think will be your favorite space and we’ll enter your name into a drawing for a prize.  Contest details available at the tours.  No registration is required.

Wednesday, Aug 27, 12:30-1:00 pm
Wednesday, Aug 27, 4:30-5:00 pm
Thursday, Aug 28, 11:00-11:30 am
Thursday, Aug 28, 2:00-2:30 pm

Questions? Call the Info Desk at 937-775-2925

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Unwin(e)d Book Club Unveils 2014 Titles

Want to read the edgiest new fiction and discuss with friends? Check out the Unwin(e)d Book Club, brought to you by the Friends of the Libraries! Start reading our first Unwin(e)d pick:

Everything I Never Told You - Celeste NgEverything I Never Told You, Celeste Ng
September 4, 2014 – 5:30 at Winan’s Beavercreek
New this year, brown bag lunch:
September 16, 2014 – Noon in Room 441 Dunbar Library

Limited copies available for checkout at Dunbar Library or purchase at the Barnes and Noble University Bookstore, where Friends of the Libraries and Wright State staff members enjoy 20% off.

Click here to see all of the year’s titles, summaries and dates.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment