ALS Challenge Accepted

If you’re like us, for a few weeks this summer your Facebook News Feed blew up with videos of your friends and family dumping ice water over their heads. P1010804

While these videos were funny and got your attention, they also helped spread awareness about an incurable, degenerative disease called amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease, named for the famous American baseball player who brought national attention to the disease in 1939.

P1010801The Wright State University Libraries were challenged to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge by the University of Dayton Libraries and we accepted that challenge. In fact, we had so many staff volunteers we had to complete the challenge in two waves. Watch our Youtube video to see us get soaked.

IMG_0997 IMG_0995

Through donations from challenge participants and an audience of our staff we were able to raise over $175 for the ALS Association. We challenged the Greene County Library, Dayton Metro Library, Bepress, Wright State Athletics, Wright State Admissions and Hospitality Services (specifically the baristas at our new Starbucks).

We were really impressed with Greene County Libraries’ response. Check out their video.

This is another great example of the power of social media. Happy helping!

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Get in the Game at Dunbar Library!

PrintIt’s the return of Library Game Night!

Join us August 29th from 6:00 to 10:00 p.m.
for pizza, pop, snacks, Unreal Tournament 3, Mario Kart, Just Dance, Rock Band, ping pong, cornhole and more! Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates  #DunbarGameNight.

This event is free and open to all Wright State students, faculty and staff. Wright1 card required for entry.

Library Game Night is brought to you by: University Libraries, The Alumni Association, Boonshoft School of Medicine, University Honors Program, Office of the Vice President of Student Affairs, Residence Services, Student Support Services, the University Center for International Education and University Ombudsperson, Office of the President. Door prizes, equipment, snacks, volunteers and other inkind donations provided by Athletics, Campus Recreation, Hospitality Services and Student Government.

5949 Karin Nevius, Library Promo Photos 9-30-10

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Build Your Skills with Research Toolkit Workshops

The University Libraries have designed 8 new workshops to improve student research skills! They are part of the Research Toolkit Series.  Workshops are free and will be offered throughout the fall term to Wright State students.  Register online.  For more information, contact the University Libraries’ Information Desk at 775-2925, or Ask A Librarian.


ResearchToolkit_FULLCOLORResearch Toolkit Workshops
:

  • 3 Simple Steps to Reading a Scholarly Article
  • Detecting CRAAP:  Evaluating Information Sources
  • Finding that “Perfect Source”
  • Google Like a Pro 
  • How Do I Find This Reference?
  • Integrating Your Sources
  • More Than Books: What the Library Can Do for You
  • Stop Searching and Start Finding

The series evolved from the discussion of a research report, Learning the Ropes: How Freshmen Conduct Course Research Once They Enter College, published in December 2013 by Project Information Literary.  This report presents findings about the challenges of today’s first-year college students. Transitioning from completing high school assignments to doing college-level research emerges as one of the most formidable challenges that incoming freshmen face.

As we talked about the results, we found that many of the issues students in the study expressed mirrored those we had observed in Wright State students.  We were also curious to see how these data compared to the data we collected from English Composition classes that our librarians visited over the 2013-2014 academic year.  After working through our results, we saw many intriguing similarities and differences, which led us to create the Research Toolkit series responding to students’ biggest challenges with the research process.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New Books: August Edition

We added over 1,500 new books and ebooks this month. Below are few suggestions. Click here for a full list.

download (1)The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail : a Novel

By Richard Peck
Illustrated by Kelly Murphy
Part of our Children’s Collection aimed at educators and located on the fourth floor of Dunbar Library, Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest.
Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3750924~S7

 

JacketStudies of Communication in the 2012 Presidential Campaign

Edited by Robert E. Denton, Jr
This diverse and unique collection of essays examines the role of communication in various aspects of the 2012 presidential campaign. Topics include the early campaign and Romney’s nomination battle, candidate image, the rhetoric and campaigning of Michelle Obama and Ann Romney, issues of race, persuasive appeals to voters, the use of music and social media, and Obama’s second inaugural address.

Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3751692~S7

 

download (2)A World of Ideas : Essential Readings for College Writers

Edited by: Lee A. Jacobus
The first and bestselling reader of its kind, A World of Ideas introduces students to great thinkers whose ideas have shaped civilizations throughout history. When students hear names like Aristotle, Martin Luther King, Jr., or Sigmund Freud, they recognize the author as important — and they rise to the challenge of engaging with the text and evaluating it critically.

Persistent link: http://wsuol2.wright.edu:80/record=b3749675~S7

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment