Research Databases: English


Show/
Hide
Database
Critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, rhetoric & composition, humanities, and folklore. Includes selective indexing of JSTOR journal titles. (more...)
Coverage: 1926 to present
Definitions, word origins, and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present (more...)
Coverage: 1993 and 1997 Second Edition
Digitized, complete back files of core scholarly journals from most disciplines. (more...)
Coverage: 1800s to about 3-5 years back
Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English. (more...)
Coverage: 600 to 20th century
Contains citations to journal and newspaper articles and to books related to Mexican Americans as well as the broader Latino experience. (more...)
Coverage: 1967 to present
Biographical information on more than 120,000 modern and contemporary authors. (more...)
Coverage: 1960 - present
Over 16,000 biographies of authors and articles on literary genres and time periods. (more...)
Coverage: Antiquity to present
A comprehensive digitization project which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. (more...)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America. (more...)
Coverage: 1473 - 1700
Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800. (more...)
Coverage: 15th to 18th centuries
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. (more...)
Coverage: Most mid-1990s to present
Union catalog of European printing from the 15th century to the middle of the 19th century, compiled by the Consortium of European Research Libraries(CERL). Formerly known as Hand Press Book Database. (more...)
Coverage: Circa 1455 to 1830
Digital reproductions of New York Times articles and pages. (more...)
Coverage: 1851-2006
Index, abstracts, and full text for literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities. (more...)
Coverage: 1975 to present
Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women. (more...)
Coverage: 1768 - 1842
Five databases with literary criticism: 19th Century Literature Criticism, 20th Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, and Short Story Criticism. (more...)
Coverage: 1800 to present
Lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. (more...)
Coverage: Updated ten times a year
Full-text and full-image articles from The Sunday Times (London, England) for the years 1822-2006. (more...)
Full-text and full-image articles from The Times of London, England for the years 1785-1985. Note: this is the Monday - Saturday newspaper; The Sunday Times is not included. (more...)
Coverage: 1785 - 1985
The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. (more...)
Includes more than 92,000 articles of literary criticism, 260,000 author biographies, full text of over 700 literary journals, and more. (more...)
Coverage: Varies with topic area
Information on a wide range of multilingual sources, mostly in the humanities and social sciences, including books and over 4,000 journals. (more...)
Coverage: 1984 to present
The Educational Resources Information Center is a unique database which indexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000+ ERIC documents from 1966+. (more...)
Coverage: 1966 to present
Indexes 1,100 of the worlds leading arts and humanities journals; includes citation searching. (more...)
Coverage: 1975 to present
An online collection of approximately 4,300 books of high quality in the humanities. (more...)
Coverage: Varies

3640 Colonel Glenn Highway, Dayton, Ohio 45435. Phone: (937) 775-2525