Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Karen Kimber
228 P. L. Dunbar Library
937-775-3034
karen.kimber@wright.edu

Africa and African American Studies @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

African American Studies

Find Articles on African American Studies
Find Facts in African American Studies
African American History
African American Writers
Notable African Americans
Find more Web Sites on African Americans


Find Articles on African American Studies

Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide variety of topics in both scholarly and general interest periodicals, including many articles related to African American studies. You can limit your to peer-reviewed journals only. Many articles are available in full text.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic and minority press, including the African American press


Find Facts in African American Studies

African-American Almanac
Electronic book published in 2003.

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience ed. Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. 2nd ed. Dunbar Ref Bookcase 5 DT14.A37435 2005
Five volumes cover people and topics related to the African American experience.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Electronic encyclopedia published in 2006.

Encyclopedia of African American Society
Electronic encyclopedia published in 2005.


African American History

The African American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920
This selection of manuscript and printed text and images drawn from the collections of the Ohio Historical Society is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project.

The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
This website contains excerpts from the book published by the Library of Congrss. The complete publication is available in the Dunbar Library’s African American Resource Collection, call number E184.6.L53 1993.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center (a unit of the New York Public Library) collects and preserves information on peoples of African descent, focusing especially on those in the western hemisphere. Their website includes much digitized information on African American history.


African American Writers

African-American Poetry, 1760-1900
Includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African American poets from 1760 to 1900.

From Slavery to Freedom: the African American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
The Library of Congress provides this digitized collection of pamphlets by African American authors and others who wrote about slavery.

Paul Laurence Dunbar Text Collection
Provides the text of over 200 poems by Paul Laurence Dunbar, as well as audio versions of four poems performed by Dr. Herbert Martin.

Paul Laurence Dunbar Website
The University of Dayton provides this page on the poet.


Notable African Americans

The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences Provides profiles of African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering.

Hall of Black Achievement
The Hall of Black Achievement, a project of Bridgewater State College, is a repository of the records or the significant achievements and contributions of Blacks, Cape Verdeans and Hispanics of African descent. The website includes audio clips for some of the subjects.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
The King Papers Project is a major research effort to assemble and disseminate historical information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr., and the social movements in which he participated. The website includes some audio clips.


Find more Websites on African American Studies

Selected Internet Resources: African and African American Studies
A guide from the Wright State African and African American Studies program.

Black Studies
Guide provided by the City College Libraries (New York City).

Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History
Guide provided by the University of North Carolina.

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 10:32
Please send comments to the Web Team.