Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Kathryn Reynolds
Dunbar Library
937-775-3516
kathryn.reynolds@wright.edu

Health, Physical Education, & Recreation @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Health, Physical Education, & Recreation

Find Articles
Find Associations/Organizations
Find Web Resources
Find Tutorials


Find Articles

SPORTDiscus
Includes more than 750,000 records in sport, physical fitness, and related fields. The content consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.

Physical Education Index
Accurate, scholarly information related to physical education. Records come from more than 300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press. Content includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.

Academic Search Complete
More than 3,500 of the almost 4,500 scholarly publications indexed in this database have full-text articles. All major academic areas of study are covered, including social sciences, humanities, arts & literature, education, and computer sciences. Coverage varies; most is from the mid 1990's to the present, though some journals go back to the mid 1970's.

PsycINFO
This international database indexes professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines from 1887+. Coverage includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Almost 1,900 journals are indexed with some links to full-text articles.

Science Citation Index Expanded
This multidisciplinary database covers journal literature of the sciences from 1980+. It indexes almost 6,000 major journals in over 150 scientific disciplines including biology, biotechnology, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, psychiatry, and surgery.

MEDLINE
The National Library of Medicine's database covers both national and international literature on all aspects of biomedicine, the biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Approximately 4,300 journals are indexed from 1950+.

CINAHL
Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. It covers both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and Physician Assisting.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
This huge database includes full-text articles from over 5,200 research journals covering a myriad of subject areas, including education, psychology, and related fields. Most coverage in these journals goes back to the mid or late 1990's up to the present.

ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center is the world's largest source of education information. This database indexes almost 1,000 education-related journals and over 500,000 documents from 1966+. ERIC also includes over 2,500 full-text ERIC Digests and other links to full-text journal articles.


Find Associations/ Organizations

American College of Sports Medicine
ACSM advances & integrates scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science & sports medicine. Links to certification & credentialing, grants & research initiatives, health & fitness information, news & publications.

American Sports Medicine Institute
ASMI's mission improves the understanding, prevention, and treatment of sports-related injuries through research & education. Includes links to education, research, electronic journals, its "Sports Medicine Camp," multimedia presentations, and rehab exercises.

National Athletic Trainers Association
International organization made up of over 27,000 allied health care professionals whose mission is to enhance the quality of health care for athletes & those engaged in physical activity & to advance the profession through education & research. Industry, media, marketing, education, & employment links.

Ohio Athletic Trainers Association
Advances the Athletic Training profession in Ohio by enhancing the quality of healthcare for the physically active. Includes links to continuing education, workshops, newsletter, bulletin boards, jobs, pictures, and a code of ethics.

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board
Board responsible for regulating & licensing Ohio's athletic trainers, occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, physical therapists & physical therapy assistants. Links to continuing education, licensure, laws & rules, and other web resources.


Find Web Resources

Anatomy of the Human Body by Henry Gray
Gray's famous book online. Features over 1,200 engravings, many in color, from the classic 1918 publication. Has a searchable subject index with over 13,000 entries.

AthleticTrainer.com
All about Athletic Training: includes professional messageboards, links to professional associations & publications, licensure & certification, and AT schools.

Biomechanics World Wide
Points to related biomechanics sites & societies, forums, journals, careers. Links to biomechanists of the world, conferences & meetings.

National Library of Medicine
World's largest medical library, with links to health information (including MEDLINE & PUBMED), research programs (including the Visible Human Project), library services, news, & exhibits.

PE Central
The premier site for health & physical educators. Links to developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children & youth, which includes lesson plans, research, adapted physical education, instructional resources, & professional information.

SportScience
Peer-reviewed site for sport research. Links to training information, journal homepages, universities, research, statistics, tests, training & performance.

The Virtual Hospital
University of Iowa's digital library of health information for health care providers and patients contains thousands of textbooks & pamphlets as well as links to continuing education, teaching & reference resources for k-12 teachers & students, and health topics in the news.


Find Tutuorials

Introducing Library Research: A Tutorial: Module 3: Subject Areas
Self-paced online resources designed for distance students wishing to learn how to conduct research in Education or Counseling, or for those who would like to brush up on their general research skills.

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 11:03
Please send comments to the Web Team.