Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Mary Lou Baker Jones
Dunbar Library
937-775-3148
marylou.jones@wright.edu

Department of Chemistry @ Wright State

 

Research Guides by Subject

Chemistry

Find Articles in Chemistry
Find Electronic Journals in Chemistry
Find Chemical Data and Chemical Reference Books
Find Older Chemical Literature


Find Articles in Chemistry

SciFinder Scholar

Try the new web version

Provides comprehensive coverage of chemical information from 1907 and also information from related fields such as biochemistry, geochemistry, environmental science, physics, medicine, and toxicology [WSU only]

Science Citation Index Expanded
Offers information from about 6000 journals covering all fields of science from 1980

Academic Search Complete
A good starting point for students wanting to find full-text, recent chemical information in a multi-disciplinary database

Environment Complete
Provides coverage of environmental literature from the 1950s to the present

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Searches a suite of 13 databases related to water, tocicology, ecology, natural resource management and other science disciplines

BIOSIS Previews
Used by chemists to find biochemical and environmental science information

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Offers information on the history of chemistry published since 1975


Find Electronic Journals in Chemistry

American Chemical Society Journal Archives
Access to all volumes of most ACS journals back to 1879

Wright State University Libraries A-Z List of E-Journals
A comprehensive list to use for links to all WSU-owned electronic journals

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
Searchable database of OhioLINK-purchased electronic journals


Find Chemical Data and Chemical Reference Books

Spectra & Other Standard Reference Data
NIST Chemistry WebBook (Data collected and offered by the National Institute of Standards and Technology)

SDBS: Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (Sponsored by National Institute of Advanced Science and Technology, Japan)

NMRShiftDB (User-contributed database of nuclear magnetic resonance spectra for organic compounds hosted by the Max Planck Institute of Chemical Ecology)

ChemBlink (Aggragates chemical information from suppliers, primarily in China. Note that some users report errors with structures.)

Aldrich Catalog (Also known as the Handbook of Fine Chemicals & Laboratory Equipment)

ChemSpider (Structure-oriented database)

International Critical Tables (Electronic edition of the classic 1920s seven-volume International Critical Tables of Numberical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology.
Hosted by Knovel. Includes interative tables.)
Journal Abbreviations / Titles
CASSI (Dunbar Abs/Inds QD1 .A522)
The Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index provides the full title and some title history for all journals abstracted in CAS since 1907.
MSDS
Material Safety Data Sheets archive supported by Vermont Safety Resources, Inc.

Commonly-used Chemistry Reference Books
Descriptions of chemical information sources in Dunbar Library


Find Older Chemical Literature

Reuss Repertorium
Index of Scholarly Societies' papers: 17th & 18th centuries

Catalogue of Scientific Papers
Royal Society of London's index of 19th century papers
Limited access available in Gallica and in Pooles 19th Century Masterfile

Gallica
An experimental server of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France with scanned images of selected journals from many academic disciplines, including 19th and early 20th century chemistry and physics periodicals

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Mon. Jul-20-09, 15:23
Please send comments to the Web Team.