Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Brian Olesko
Paul Laurence Dunbar Library
937-775-3521
brian.olesko@wright.edu

 

Research Guides by Subject

Consumer Health

Find General Information
Find Drug Information
Find Books on Medical Topics
Find Clinical Trials
Research Medical Topics
Find Hospice Care
Find Consumer Protection and Safety Information


Find General Information for Medical Consumers (back to top)

American Academy of Pediatrics Children's Health Topics
Pediatric health topics A to Z and by age groups.

Familydoctor.org
Health information for the whole family from the American Academy of Family Physicians. Includes a section on kids' health, a medical dictionary, and other health tools.

HealthFinder
Comprehensive consumer health information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Lists thousands of health related associations, has an Online Checkup feature and other personal health tools.

InteliHealth
Provided by AETNA featuring Harvard Medical School's Consumer Health Information.

Lab Tests Online
Maintained by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. Search for lab tests by disease or lab test name.

MayoClinic.com
Comprehensive consumer health information from the Mayo Clinic.

Medem
A partnership of over 40 medical societies providing consumer health information.

MedlinePlus
Comprehensive consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

NetWellness
Consumer health information and educational services from the faculty at the University of Cincinnati, the Ohio State University, and Case Western Reserve University. Includes “Ask an Expert” where medical professionals answer questions.

NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
Provides links to the best consumer health information on the Web.

WebMD Health
Comprehensive consumer health information.


Find Drug Information (back to top)

Clinical Pharmacology
For WSU faculty, staff, and students: Includes U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs.

MEDLINEplus Drug Information
United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)


Find Books on Medical Topics (back to top)

MDConsult
For WSU faculty, staff, and students: Features the full-text of 39 medical texts and reference books, 59 medical journals, 31 titles in the Year Book series, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient education handouts, and medical news updates.

WSU Catalog


Find Clinical Trials (back to top)

AIDS Community Research Initiative of America
Directory contains information on clinical trials for AIDS and HIV that are currently enrolling in New York State, New Jersey, Connecticut and Philadelphia.

CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service
Locate clinical trials for a variety of medical areas and drug therapies.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Locate clinical trials for a variety of medical areas and drug therapies.

National Cancer Institute: Clinical Trials
Find cancer clinical trials and information about clinical trials.


Research Medical Topics (back to top)

Alt Health Watch
For WSU faculty, staff, and students: A database of complementary, alternative, and holistic health care publications including reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. Some full text..

Consumer Health Complete
For WSU faculty, staff, and students: Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information including medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, magazine articles, and multimedia.

Health Source Consumer Edition
For WSU faculty, staff, and students: Full text journal articles covering health information for consumers.

PubMed
Search the MEDLINE database of journal articles in biomedicine.


Find Hospice Care (back to top)

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization Database
Search for hospice and palliative care providers throughout the United States.


Find Consumer Protection and Safety Information (back to top)

American Board of Medical Specialties
You can learn about the importance of board certification and check to see if your doctor is certified.

American Medical Association DoctorFinder
Search by physician name or specialty. Provides medical school, year of graduation, board certification, telephone number, and address.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Includes sections about Diseases & Conditions; Emergency Preparedness & Response; Injury,Violence & Safety; Workplace Safety & Health; Travelers Health; and much more.

Household Products Database
Find safety information for the household products you use every day.

Quackwatch
A searchable website with information about fraud in the healthcare industry.

State Medical Board of Ohio
In the section for consumers you can check on the training, credentials, and disciplinary status of medical professionals licensed by the State Medical Board of Ohio.

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Thu. Jun-11-09, 16:20
Please send comments to the Web Team.