Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Kathryn Reynolds
Dunbar Library
937-775-3516
kathryn.reynolds@wright.edu

Counseling @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Counseling

Find Articles on Counseling
Find Counseling Associations/Organizations
Find Online Government Information on Counseling
Find Web Resources about Counseling
Find a Tutorial about Counseling


Find Articles on Counseling

PsycINFO
This international database indexes professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines from 1887+. Coverage includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Almost 1,900 journals are indexed with some links to full-text articles.

Psychiatry Online
A large collection of psychiatric books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Includes the DSM-IV-TR, The American Journal of Psychiatry and practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This is a comprehensive database indexing over 500 full-text, mostly peer-reviewed, professional journals. Some titles are covered back to the mid 1970's.

Academic Search Premier
More than 3,500 of the almost 4,500 scholarly publications indexed in this database have full-text articles. All major academic areas of study are covered, including social sciences, humanities, arts & literature, education, and computer sciences. Coverage varies; most is from the mid 1990's to the present, though some journals go back to the mid 1970's.

Education Research Complete
The ERC is the largest, most comprehensive education database with indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals; full text for over 750 journals; full text for over 100 books, monographs, conference papers, etc.

ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center is a unique database indexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000+ ERIC documents from 1966+.

Social Sciences Citation Index
This massive index includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,700 journals in the social sciences, spanning 50 disciplines, from 1980+. In addition, another 3,300 mostly scientific and technical journals are selectively indexed depending upon their relevance.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
This huge database includes full-text articles from over 5,200 research journals covering a myriad of subject areas, including education, psychology, and related fields. Most coverage in these journals goes back to the mid or late 1990's up to the present.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
MMY provides access to expert reviews of published psychological tests and measurements from 1985+. The reviews include descriptive information, references, and critical analyses of tests. Test reviewers are subject ecperts carefully selected by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements staff. The instruments themselves are not present in the MMY but publisher contact information and price data are provided.


Find Counseling Associations/Organizations

American Counseling Association (ACA)
Information for counselors, students, and consumers with links to publications, public policy, a career center, online learning opportunities, listservs, licensure and certification, legislation, divisions & regions.

American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA)
AMHCA's mission is to "enhance the profession of mental health counseling through licensing, advocacy, education and professional development". It provides membership benefits including practice resources, publications and products, malpractice, health and casualty protection, job searches, and a complete listing of state licensure and certification boards.

American School Counselor Association (ASCA)
ASCA represents school counselors in K-12 and academic settings. It promotes ethical practices; provides professional development, research, and publications; and enhances school counseling programs.

Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES)
The purpose of ACES is to advance counselor education and supervision to improve guidance, counseling, and student development services for its members.

National Board for Certified Counselors & Affiliates (NBCC)
NBCC is the largest certification service of the counseling profession. The organization provides information about certification/recertification, examinations, ethics, e-news, & more general information.

Ohio Counseling Association (OCA)
Promotes and advances the discipline of counseling throughout Ohio. Includes links to chapters & divisions, speaker's bureau, division newsletters, job openings, legislation, and a calendar of events.

Ohio Mental Health Counselors Association (OMHCA)
OMHCA is the Ohio chapter of the American Mental Health Counselors Association. OMHCA provides information, training, education, and advocacy for Ohio's mental health counselors.

Ohio School Counselor Association (OSCA)
OSCA's chief function is to promote school counseling with its primary focus on students. As a professional organization, OSCA also provides member services; promotes legislation; and encourages public awareness of school counselors' roles.


Find Online Government Information on Counseling

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Programs, services, facts, and current news. Popular links include "AdoptOhio," "Child Care," "Child Support," "Health Plans," "Unemployment," and the "Ohio Job Net Online."

Ohio Department of Mental Health
Newsletters, events & seminars, best practices, community forums, departmental & community information about mental health.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Clinical trials, funding opportunities as well as information for the public, practitioners, and researchers. News & events, training & employment opportunities in the mental health field.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS)
Links to such diverse topics as diseases & conditions, safety & wellness, drug & food information, disasters & emergencies, grants & funding, families & children, aging, policies & regulations, reference collections, resource collections.


Find Web Resources on Counseling

The Counseling Center Village
Made up of many Web resources created by college & university counseling centers around the world and includes a directory, virtual pamphlet and reference collections, a research network, staff development, pre-doctoral training, workshop materials, & technical assistance links.

Mental Health Links by Dr. Bob
Targets mental health professionals. Includes a message board, the "Student Counseling Virtual Pamphlet Collection," statistics & other data, psychopharmacology tips, an encyclopedia, & comprehensive and more focused content lists.

Online Dictionary of Mental Health
Subject list and A to Z links compiled by mental health resource users covering all disciplines with many viewpoints on issues in mental health. Includes book reviews on mental health bestsellers as well as research studies by the NIMH.

Psych Central: Dr. John Grohol's Mental Health Page
Includes a huge resource directory, information about disorder symptoms & treatments, quizzes & tests, articles & essays, news, community support forums, weekly live chats, and the "World of Psychology Blog."


Find a Tutorial on Counseling

Introducing Library Research: A Tutorial: Module 3: Counseling
Self-paced online resources designed for distance students wishing to learn how to conduct research in Counseling or Education, or for those who would like to brush up on their general research skills.

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 11:03
Please send comments to the Web Team.