Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Karen Kimber
228 P. L. Dunbar Library
937-775-3034
karen.kimber@wright.edu

Applied Behavioral Science: Criminal Justice and Social Problems @ Wright State University

Research Guides by Subject

Criminal Justice

Find Articles on Criminal Justice
U.S. Government Agencies
Find Facts about Criminal Justice
Find more Web Sites on Criminal Justice


Find Articles on Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.

Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide variety of topics in both scholarly and general interest periodicals, including many articles on criminal justice. You can limit your to peer-reviewed journals only. Many articles are available in full text.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Includes citations and abstracts in scholarly journals for articles on criminal justice, as well as other disciplines in the social sciences. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's bibliography, or cited reference list, you can also search the database for articles that cite a specific author or work.

LexisNexis Academic
Two parts of this database are useful for researching criminal justice. A search of News (the default when you open the database) provides full-text newspaper articles and media broadcast transcripts. Choose Legal Research to search for court cases, articles in law reviews, and other legal materials.

PAIS International
Identifies and provides abstracts for articles, books, and government publications on public policy issues, including criminal justice.

Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
This database is a subset of Academic Search Premier above, focusing on psychology and other behavioral sciences.

SocINDEX
Identifies and provides abstracts and full text for scholarly articles and more.


U.S. Government Agencies

Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI’s website provides links to the full text of many reports they publish on crime and its investigation, including the Uniform Crime Reports, their major statistical publication.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Provides links to full-text reports published by federal government agencies that deal with criminal justice. Browsable categories include corrections, drugs and crime, and juvenile justice. In addition, the NCJRS Abstracts Database provides a searchable database of abstracts of journals articles and reports from a variety of sources.

National Institute of Corrections
Offers full-text reports and other information of interest to professionals in corrections.

U.S. Sentencing Commission
Provides full-text reports on sentencing issues in the criminal justice system.


Find Facts about Criminal Justice

Capital Punishment
This website from the University of Louisville provides links to information on capital punishment.

Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics
Links to various sources of crime and criminal justice data.

American Dictionary Of Criminal Justice : Key Terms And Major Court Cases Dunbar Ref, Call Number HV7411 .C48 2005

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment Dunbar Ref, Call Number HV6017 .E524 2002
A 4-volume encyclopedia. Provides definitions and background information on topics in criminology and criminal justice and includes bibliographies at the ends of articles which suggest further reading on the topics.

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
An online encyclopedia.


Find More Websites on Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Links
Florida State University’s School of Criminology and Criminal Justice provides this compilation of web links.

MegaLinks in Criminal Justice
North Carolina's Wesleyan College provides this compilation of web links.


Related Research Guide

Law @ the Libraries

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 10:32
Please send comments to the Web Team.