Library Science
Find Articles in Library Science
Find Other Library Systems
Find Library Science Associations/Organizations
Find Web Resources on Library Science
Find a Tutorial on Library Science
Finding Articles in
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
Indexes full text and abstracts to over 600 periodicals in library and information science and technology as well as books, research reports, and proceedings from mid-1960s +.
Education Research Complete
The ERC is the largest, most comprehensive education database with indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals; full text for over 750 journals; full text for over 100 books, monographs, conference papers, etc.
ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center is a unique database indexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000+ ERIC documents from 1966+.
Academic Search Premier
More than 3,500 of the almost 4,500 scholarly publications indexed in this database have full-text articles. All major academic areas of study are covered, including social sciences, humanities, arts & literature, education, and computer sciences. Coverage varies; most is from the mid 1990's to the present, though some journals go back to the mid 1970's.
MLA Bibliography
This international database indexes over 3,500 journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings from 1963+. It mainly focuses on scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
An acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 book descriptions and more than 300,000 reviews of children's books.
Literary Reference Center
This database includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, 75,000 articles of literary criticism, 130,000 author biographies, full text of over 300 literary journals, 500,000 book reviews, 25,000 classic and contemporary poems, 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories, 3,000 author interviews, and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
ACM Digital Library
The Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library provides bibliograpic information, abstracts, index term, reviews, and full text for articles published in ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings from 1985+.
Safari Books Online
Safari is a collection of electronic books covering topics like certification, computer science, databases, desktop publishing, graphics, hardware, Internet/online, IT management, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, and software engineering from 1996+.
Find Other Library Systems
INFOhio
This is a virtual library of free, state-funded electronic resources selected for K 12 research and made available to all Ohio K-12 students and educators. A username and password are required for home access.
Library of Congress
America's library: includes online catalogs of books, prints & photographs, cassettes, cd's, discs, transcripts of radio broadcasts/ links to the U.S. Copyright Office, "National Digital Preservation Program," featured webcasts, services for persons with disabilities, & the "Ask a Librarian" chat reference service.
National Library of Education
The federal government's primary resource center for education information. Links to activities and programs in DOE, publications and materials from other federal agencies, ERIC resources, and NCES statistics.
Ohio Public Library Information Network (OPLIN)
Provides residents of Ohio with fast, free Internet access through the state telecommunications network, along with access to high-quality research databases not available on the Web/ includes popular services like "Oh! Kids," "Oh! Teens," "Oh! Teach." INFOhio, Ohioana Library, and genealogy resources.
State Library of Ohio
Ohio's library: includes catalog & databases, Ohio library directories, public library statistics/ links to Ohio government, laws, and federal resources/ programs "Let's Talk about It," "Ohio Center for the Book," and "Ohio Reading Program."
Find Library Science Associations/Organizations
Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)
ALAO is the Ohio chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries and is a section of the Ohio College Association. It has over 600 members from 100 libraries, businesses, and organizations.
American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
ALA division focused on school libraries & media centers. Links to resources, programs, services, online publications, professional tools--including discussion lists and information & resources on major issues within the school library media field.
American Library Association (ALA)
64,000 member ALA is the oldest & largest library association in the world. Offers professional services with links to publications & products, discussion groups, awards & scholarships, education & careers; focuses on library issues & advocacy.
American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
ASIS&T is an interdisciplinary society for information professionals who search for better theories, techniques, & technologies to improve information access. Includes links to continuing education, publications, discussion groups, special interest groups.
Medical Library Association: MLANET
Nonprofit, educational organization of more than 1,100 institutions and 3,600 members in the health-sciences information field. Supports health information professionals & health information research/ promotes access to the world's health sciences information.
Ohio Educational Library Media Association (OLEMA)
Professional organization dedicated to education, literacy, and technology excellence in Ohio. Links to publications, white papers, regional sites, legislation & advocacy, conferences & workshops, scholarships & awards.
Ohio Library Council (OLC)
Statewide professional organization which represents the interests of Ohio's public libraries, as well as their staffs, trustees, and Friends. Links to educational opportunities, government relations, news, & resources.
Special Libraries Association (SLA)
International association representing the interests of thousands of information professionals in over 70 countries. Links to career services, products & publications, virtual community, public policy central, salary surveys, & consultation services.
Find Web Resources about Library Science
LIBDEX: The Library Index
A worldwide directory of library homepages, web-based OPACs, Friends of the Library pages, and e-commerce affiliate links.
Internet Library for Librarians
Portal designed for librarians to locate Internet resources related to their profession. Includes Ready Reference resources as well as librarianship links, and accessories & tools for librarians.
Librarians Index to the Internet
Well-organized point of access for reliable, librarian-selected Internet resources; includes multiple, interdisciplinary links, news & features, search tools.
LibrarySpot.com
Free, virtual library resource center for educators, students, librarians, families, businesses. Has the best library and reference sites in easy-to-use format. Categories include a "Reference Desk" and "Reading Room," lists, & exhibits.
ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
Created by Joan M. Reitz, a professor at Western Connecticut State University, as a hypertext reference resource for library & information science professionals, university students & faculty, and other library users; includes almost 3,000 relevant terms.
refdesk.com
Indexes & reviews quality, current, information-based sites and assists its visitors in navigating these sites. It is a huge resource with links to Internet search engines, reference, news, pictures, today in history, & features (book reviews, comics, crossword puzzles).
Find a Tutorial on Library Science
Introducing Library Research: A Tutorial: Module 3: Subject Areas
Self-paced online resources designed for distance students wishing to learn how to conduct research in Education or for those who would like to brush up on their general research skills.