Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Bette Sydelko
Fordham Health Sciences Library
937-775-3840
bette.sydelko@wright.edu

Boonshoft School of Medicine @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Medicine

Find Articles
Find Electronic Books
Find Evidence Based Medicine Resources
Find Facts about Drugs and Drug Interactions
Find Patient Care Resources
Find Health Statistics
Find Images
Selected Web Resources
Find Residency Information
Find History of Medicine Resources
PDA Information and Handheld-Friendly Resources


Find Articles

PubMed
Access to references from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Covers biomedical literature from 1950 to present. Daily updates. Must link to PubMed through the University Libraries' web site to access available full text. Use Clinical Queries to help search for evidence based medicine articles.

MEDLINE from OhioLINK
Access to references in the biomedical literature from 1950 to present. Links to full text when available.

Cochrane Library
Provides access to the Database of Systematic Reviews (full text) and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, two excellent sources of evidence based healthcare reviews.

Science Citation Index Expanded
References to articles from major journals in all areas of science. Links to full text when available. Find articles that cite a known author or work. 1980 to present.


Find Electronic Books

AccessMedicine
Over 40 full text basic science and clinical medicine textbooks including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. Also includes clinical care guidelines, drug information, Diagnosaursus for differential diagnosis, images, a study and review guide for the USMLE and much more.

MDConsult
Full text of 40 major textbooks including Conn's Current Therapy, Robbins Pathological Basis of Disease, and Cecil Textbook of Medicine. Access to some full text journal articles and drug information for healthcare providers and patients.

Wright State Library Catalog
Look up journal titles, find books or videos at Wright State and the local (affiliated) hospital libraries.

ACP Medicine
A comprehensive online textbook. Includes chapters on all 15 subspecialties of internal medicine. Formerly known as Scientific American Medicine.

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the DSM-IV-TR, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.


Find Evidence Based Medicine Resources


Finding Facts about Drugs and Drug Interactions

AccessMedicine
Prescription and non-prescription drug information; easy to access through alphabetical listing, includes pictures

Clinical Pharmacology
Database of U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs, includes patient education materials.

MEDLINEplus Drug Information
Drug information from the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).


Find Patient Care Resources

AccessMedicine
Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool; Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests; Guidelines; Patient Education materials, Quick access to synopses of diagnosis and treatment of 800 disorders

Clinical Evidence
Synopses of what is known and not known about treatments for 228 conditions and the evidence that supports those treatments. Available from the BMJ Publishing Group.

FIRSTConsult
Evidence-based resources that include differential diagnosis, guidelines, procedures

PIER (The Physicians’ Information and Education Resource)
From the American College of Physicians,  PIER provides access to evidence-based guidelines for improving the quality of patient care. Access to PIER is through our subscription to STAT!Ref products. On the End User License page, click on the "I accept" link to connect.

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the DSM-IV-TR, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.


Find Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
Premier source for national health statistics. Find census data.

Health Statistics Resource Guide
Lists major online and print sources for finding statistics on morbidity and mortality, minority health, medical education, and the health professions. Covers national, international, and Ohio sources.


Find Images

AccessMedicine
Images from all the textbooks in AccessMedicine are provided in a searchable collection, or you can browse alphabetically.

Images.MD
Over 50,000 medical images suitable for use in classroom presentations.


Selected Web Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Vaccines, Immunizations, Growth Charts, Health Promotion, Emergency Preparedness, Traveler's Health, Public Health, and more.

MedlinePlus®MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a consumer health oriented database published by the National Library of Medicine. It provides authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also contains extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos. Great resource for consumers and health practitioners!

NLM Gateway
Access to numerous National Library of Medicine databases of information such as Toxline, MedlinePlus (for consumer health) , DIRLINE (Directory of Health Organizations), Clinical Trials.gov, OMIN (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man), and many others.


Find Residency Information

Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database (FREIDA)
American Medical Association's Web version of the Graduate Medical Education Directory (also known as the Green Book).

Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS)
Use this service to transmit applications, grade reports, and all other supporting documentation to chosen residency programs.

United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE)
Learn about the USMLE and the Clinical Skills Exam, includes sample test questions and helpful hints.

National Resident Matching Program
Matches residency applicants and hospital residency programs, provides information on programs available after match day.


Find History of Medicine Resources

History of Medicine Research Guide

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 12:58
Please send comments to the Web Team.