Music
Online Encyclopedias
Finding Scores and Recordings
Finding Articles in Music
Finding Useful Facts about Music
Online Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online
Includes the online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a comprehensive encyclopedia of music with articles on composers, instruments, performers, regions, countries and cities, styles, genres, and terms. Also includes online versions of The Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the musical heritage and traditions of every region of the world, including description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Finding Scores and Recordings
Finding Scores in the WSU Library: Library Research Guide
Learn the tricks for locating scores in our library.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Download free PDFs of scores in the public domain.
Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio of classical music and opera, jazz, and world music, recorded on the nearly 50 labels including Naxos, BIS, Chandos, Hungaroton, cpo, Vanguard and more.
Music-In-Print Series
Locate music known to have been published and available in the U.S., with links to publisher information.
Index to Printed Music
IPM indexes individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions such as composers' complete works, national collections, the Recent Researches series, and major anthologies.
Finding Art Songs in the WSU Library
Tips on how to find scores and recordings of solo vocal music.
Song Index (University of Tennessee)
Look up songs contained in over 1,500 published anthologies, then check the WSU Library Catalog or OhioLINK to see if the collection is available locally.
Finding Articles in Music
Music Index
Find citations to articles from over 640 international music journals, covering both classical and popular music. Provides best coverage of music education journals. Citations are also included for book reviews, recording reviews, first performances and obituaries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Find abstracts of scholarly works on music in all formats: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings and more.
Academic Search Complete
General article database which includes coverage of music. Full-text available for most articles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Particularly useful for tracking citation history of important articles.
Finding Useful Facts about Music
Music Necrology
Find death dates and citations to obituaries for individuals in all realms of music who have died since 1995.
Resources for Singers
A guide to reference books and databases useful to singers researching their repertoire.
Art Song Translation and Pronunciation
A guide to resources at Wright State containing word-by-word and IPA translations of vocal texts.
A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
Information about copyright, performing rights, and fair use. Although developed with librarians in mind, information is useful to all musicians.
Public Domain Music
A reference site to help identify public domain songs and music, royalty free music you can use anywhere and any way you choose.