Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links




First flight of the Wright Brothers

Selected PDA Software Resources

Unless described as FREE, these resources generally require purchase by each individual user. Many of these commercial resources offer a free trial version or a demo version. Remember that trial and demo versions often have limited content compared to the version available for purchase, or they may only be accessible for a limited amount of time. Unless otherwise indicated, the software titles are available for both Palm OS and Pocket PC platforms.

General Reference Software Titles for Healthcare Professionals

Access Medicine (not full e-books--individual content pages only) FREE to valid WSU users
Select "My Saved Images, PDA downloads...", establish a free personal account, then download the free reader software. Once you have a personal account, you can download Access Medicine content to your PDA from any content page by clicking on the "Save for PDA" link. (Note: Harrison's on Hand and other complete e-books for PDA are available for separate purchase).

5-Minute Clinical Consult

 

Harrison's Manual of Medicine

Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics

RNLabs (Nurses’ Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests)

Pocket Consult (via MD Consult) FREE to valid WSU users
Selected journal articles, medical news, calculators, and more. Free to Wright State students, faculty, and staff through WSU's institutional subscription. Requires establishing a free personal account with MDConsult. Select the "create account " link on the top right corner of the page. Once your personal account is created, click the "My PDA" link to get started. Call the Fordham information desk at 775-2005 for assistance with the download. Note to Tungsten T5 users: Update may be required for proper synchronization.

[A current PDA version of Mosby's Drug Consult is no longer available through Pocket Consult. Please use Clinical Pharmacology on Hand--see details below under Drug Guides].

First Consult Handheld FREE to valid WSU users
Free to WSU students, faculty, and staff through WSU’s institutional subscription, but requires establishing a free personal account. Once connected to First Consult, click "More..." under the heading "First Consult on PDA" and follow the instructions. Includes all the tools available through Pocket Consult, plus differential diagnosis and selected medical topics content.
Mobile Merck Medicus FREE to licensed health professionals
Free download includes the Merck Manual, 17th edition, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Reuters Medical News, and Merck Medicus and MEDLINE searching. Requires registration with a professional license number.

EBM Calculator v. 1.2 (for Palm) FREE

EBM Calculator v. 1.02 (for Pocket PC) FREE
Designed to calculate relevant statistics for diagnostic studies, prospective studies, case control studies, and randomized controlled trials (RCTs). Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine at the University of Toronto.


Geriatrics at Your Fingertips FREE
This text on geriatric assessment and treatment is free but requires registration.


Diagnosaurus FREE
a differential diagnosis tool


Links to Clinical Practice Guidelines for Handheld Computers FREE
National Guidelines Clearinghouse page that describes how to view all its guidelines with a Palm OS or Pocket PC PDA. Links to other sources of free clinical guidelines for PDAs, such as the American College of Cardiology, the American Academy of Family Physicians, the American College of Physicians, etc.
Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics FREE to valid WSU users
Click "Find Full Text Articles", then click "Single Journals" link. Authenticate, if prompted. Then, under the "View Current Issue" button, click the red link "HANDHELD EDITION NOW AVAILABLE!".

NLM Mobile (PubMed, Wireless System for Emergency Responders, NCBI Bookshelf) FREE
Links to the National Library of Medicine's free PDA applications--PubMed on Tap, PubMed PDA-accessible browser, Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER), and downloadable books from the the National Center for Biotechnology Information.


Psychiatry Online (not full e-books--individual content pages only) FREE to valid WSU users
Select My Psychiatry Online, establish a free personal account, then save and download PsychiatryOnline content to your PDA from any content page by clicking on the "Save for PDA" link. Content saved to your PDA will not include tables, figures, or links. You must synchronize your Palm OS or Pocket PC device using a computer running Windows OS. (Note: Complete PDA versions of the DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and other e-books are available for separate purchase from this site.

Drug Guides

Clinical Pharmacology on Hand FREE to valid WSU users but a promotional code may be required for real time updates and access from off campus
Important: Read PDA download instructions FIRST. There are compatability issues and special procedures associated with certain devices and operating systems. If prompted for a user name and password, contact the FHSL Information Desk (775-2005) for a promotional code and login instructions.


Dr Drugs (Davis’s Drug Guide for Physicians)


Epocrates RX FREE
  • More than 3,300 brand and generic drugs, including dosing, interactions, adverse reactions, and more
  • MultiCheck multiple-drug interaction checker
  • Integrated health insurance formularies (including Medicare Part D formularies)
  • MedMath medical calculators
  • Clinical and specialty news
  • Continual free updates
Epocrates software with additional features (symptoms assessment tool and lab values references, and more) is available for purchase.


Lexi-Comp
Drug, lab tests, diagnostic and other software available as a single or a bundled purchase. FREE TRIAL available with registration.
 


Mobile PDR FREE to licensed health professionals
Requires registration, but advertised as free to qualified practitioners: physicians/residents, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, medical students.

Drug Guide (Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses)

Metasites of Medical and Nursing Content for PDAs

Skyscape
Publishes commercial software for medicine and nursing.


PDA Cortex: The Journal of Mobile Informatics
Includes reviews to Palm and Pocket PC hardware and software, Medical and Nursing PDA software, listservs for various PDA user groups such as physicians, nurses, veterinarians, Emergency Services personnel, and more. Also links to more than 40 freeware applications for medicine and nursing, both the Palm and Pocket PC platforms.


Palmdoc Chronicles (The Ectopic Brain ceased in January 2007).
PDA-related news briefs and links


Unbound Medicine
Commercial software powered by the CogniQ interface.


Medical Wizards
Commercial software, categorized by relevance to medical students, nursing students, physician assistant students, and physicians and nurses in various specialities.


PDA MD
Commercial software. Also includes reviews.


Medical Pocket PC
Commercial software. Also includes reviews. Pocket PCs only.


General Metasites for PDAs

Both Platforms (Palm or Pocket PC)

Handango
Commercial software. To retrieve resources by subject category, use the site map at the bottom of the page. Site map also allows you to browse resources by date added (last 7 days, last 14 days). Also includes search and advanced search options.


Handheld News
Includes software directory, news, mailing lists, message boards, classified ads, and reviews (software, hardware, and peripherals).


PDA Street
Freeware, shareware, commercial software. Also includes reviews and features (Today in Software, Newly Added, Today’s Headlines).


PDA Tucows
Freeware, shareware, and commercial software categorized by type (calculators, games, medical, miscellaneous, etc.). Tucows software reviewers rate the software based on several factors (including the availability of documentation and customer support). Each title also receives a popularity rating based on user downloads.

Palm OS

Freeware Palm
 

Palm Gear
Freeware, shareware, hardware. Can browse software by date added (today, last 7 days, last 14 days, last 30 days) or by the last 25, 50, or 100 resources updated.

Medical Mnemonics
a free database of medical mnemonic aids contributed by current and former medical students.

Pocket PC

Freeware Pocket PC

Palm Gear

Freeware, shareware, commercial software, categorized links (news, development, user support).
 
 
Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information

Last updated Fri. Jun-09-06, 14:36

Please send comments to the Web Team.