Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Kathryn Reynolds
Dunbar Library
937-775-3516
kathryn.reynolds@wright.edu

Rehabilitation @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Rehabilitation

Find Articles in Rehabilitation
Find Rehabilitation Associations/Organizations
Find Online Government Information about Rehabilitation
Find Web Resources on Rehabilitation
Find a Tutorial about Rehabilitation


Find Articles in Rehabilitation

PsycINFO
This international database indexes professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines from 1887+. Coverage includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Almost 1,900 journals are indexed with some links to full-text articles.

Psychiatry Online
A large collection of psychiatric books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Includes the DSM-IV-TR, The American Journal of Psychiatry and practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This is a comprehensive database indexing over 500 full-text, mostly peer-reviewed, professional journals. Some titles are covered back to the mid 1970's.

ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center is a unique database indexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000+ ERIC documents from 1966+.

Education Research Complete
The ERC is the largest, most comprehensive education database with indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals; full text for over 750 journals; full text for over 100 books, monographs, conference papers, etc.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
This huge database includes full-text articles from over 5,200 research journals covering a myriad of subject areas, including education, psychology, and related fields. Most coverage in these journals goes back to the mid or late 1990's up to the present.

Academic Search Premier
More than 3,500 of the almost 4,500 scholarly publications indexed in this database have full-text articles. All major academic areas of study are covered, including social sciences, humanities, arts & literature, education, and computer sciences. Coverage varies; most is from the mid 1990's to the present, though some journals go back to the mid 1970's.

MEDLINE
The National Library of Medicine's online database covers both national and international literature on all aspects of biomedicine, the biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Approximately 4,300 journals are indexed from 1950+.

Science Citation Index Expanded
This multidisciplinary database covers journal literature of the sciences from 1980+. It indexes almost 6,000 major journals in over 150 scientific disciplines including biology, biotechnology, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, psychiatry, and surgery.

Physical Education Index
Accurate, scholarly information related to physical education. Records come from more than 300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press. Content includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.


Find Rehabilitation Associations/Organizations

American Rehabilitation Counseling Association
Made up of rehabilitation counseling practitioners, educators, and students. Focused on improving the lives of people with disabilities and promoting the profession. Includes newsletter, other news links, information about credentialing, ethics, & legislation.

Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE)
CORE accredits graduate programs in Rehabilitation Counselor Education. Links to an accreditation manual, standards, applications, newsletters, a listserv, & related sites.

National Rehabilitation Association
One of the oldest & strongest advocates for the rights of people with disabilities. Members include rehab counselors, physical, speech, and occupational therapists, job trainers, consultants, independent living instructors. Links to training, government affairs, publications, news.

Ohio Rehabilitation Association
For Ohio's rehabilitation professionals and others in the rehabilitation field; contains legislative links as well as a calendar & annual conference.

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
RIF is a national organization of professionals who provide sign language interpreting/transliterating services for dead and hard of hearing persons. RID provides certification through a national testing system; professional and continuing education; and a code of ethics. It was established in 1964.


Find Online Government Information about Rehabilitation

DisabilityInfo.gov
Comprehensive website of disability-related U.S. government resources with a site search capability. Links to employment, housing, education, transportation, health, civil rights, income support, & technology.

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol & Drug Information
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services' and SAMHSA's national clearinghouse--also known as Prevention Online or PREVLINE. Site search by drugs, audience, or issues; includes links to publications, news, related resources, & other databases.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information published by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes site search, browse features, alphabetic listing of occupations with descriptions, working conditions, anticipated salary, job outlook.

Ohio Department of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities
Links to information for Ohio citizens, county boards, advocates, & providers. Includes site search feature, FAQ's, news, and training.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Links to such diverse topics as diseases & conditions, safety & wellness, drug & food information, disasters & emergencies, grants & funding, families & children, aging, policies & regulations, reference collections, resource collections.


Find Web Resources on Rehabilitation

CODI Cornucopia of Disability Information
CODI includes both an Internet directory of disability information & a repository of disability documents dating back to the early 1990's. Information links to local (Buffalo & WNY), state, national, and international issues. Site search, archives, statistics, & directories.

DRM Guide to Disability Resources on the Internet
Includes "DRM Regional Resource Directory" which lists thousands of local agencies & organizations arranged by state & then by topic. The "DRM WebWatcher" which alphabetically arranges thousands of the best disability resources from the Internet. Has FAQ's, site search, & an extensive guide to online resources about library accessibility.

Interpreting & Sign Language Resources (ISLR)
The ISLR department is located at the Ohio School for the Deaf. The site provides links to workshops, resources, and contacts. Its links to services includes assessments, mentoring, and internships. ISLR serves pre-K-12 schools, public school interpreters, and interpreting students in Ohio.

National Rehabilitation Information Center
Home of REHABDATA Connection, NARIC's current awareness service; also publishes RehabWire. The Instant Disability Information Center is a database with links to over 70,000 resources--links to research, project, products & services information.

Rehabilitation Counseling Web Links
Site maintained by George Washington University's Department of Counseling, Human and Organizational Studies. Links to research, legislative, educational, & student resources, including links to associations, & journals.

Web of Addictions
Award winning resource for teachers, students, researchers, and others who need accurate facts about drugs and drug abuse. Includes links to fact sheets, Web resources, groups, conferences & meetings, places to get help and a special topics page with in-depth focus on particular subjects of interest.


Find a Tutorial about Rehabilitation

Introducing Library Research: A Tutorial: Module 3: Subject Areas
Self-paced online resources designed for distance students wishing to learn HOW to conduct research in Counseling or Education, or for those who would like to brush up on their general research skills.

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 11:04
Please send comments to the Web Team.