Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Piper Martin
Paul Laurence Dunbar Library
937-775-3148
piper.martin@wright.edu

Department of Social Work @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Social Work

Find Articles on Social Work
Find Facts about Social Work
Find Out about Welfare and Welfare Reform
Professional Organizations
Government Agencies
Find More Websites on Social Work
Related and Research and Course Guides


Find Articles on Social Work

Social Work Abstracts
This database produced by the National Association of Social Workers is the most focused and comprehensive source for identifying articles related to social work.

PsycINFO
Provides citations and abstracts for articles and books on social work, in addition to its main focus on psychology.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Includes citations and abstracts in scholarly journals for articles on social work, as well as other disciplines in the social sciences. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's bibliography, or cited reference list, you can also search the database for articles that cite a specific author or work.

Academic Search Complete
Includes full-text articles for several major social work journals, including some published by the National Association of Social Workers.



Find Facts about Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work (and supplements). Ref HV35.S6 1995[catalog record]
This encyclopedia published by the National Association of Social Workers includes supplements published in 1997 and 2003.


Find Out about Welfare and Welfare Reform

Assessing the New Federalism
The Urban Institute provides reports from its “research project to analyze the devolution of responsibility for social programs from the federal government to the states.”

Welfare Information Network
The nonprofit organization Finance Project produces reports and compiles links to other sources regarding welfare and related human services.


Professional Organizations

American Public Human Services Association
APHSA is a nonprofit, bipartisan organization concerned with human services, and the website provides news and links to some full-text reports.

National Association of Social Workers
The NASW is the major organization of professional social workers, and their website offers information about the profession and about topics of interest to social workers.


Government Agencies

National Institute of Mental Health
Provides links to information and online publications concerning mental health.

Ohio Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage & Family Therapist Board
This state agency issues licenses and regulates social work in Ohio.

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
This state agency oversees programs related to health care, employment and economic assistance, child support, and services to families and children.

Social Security Online
The official website of the U.S. Social Security Administration.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This government agency’s website includes links to a wide variety of information of interest to social workers.


Find More Web sites on Social Work

Home Page of Dr. Theresa Myadze
Dr. Myadze is Associate Professor and Field Practicum Coordinator in the Wright State Department of Social Work. Her website includes Social Work Resources.

SWAN: Social Work Access Network
Provided by the University of South Carolina. Includes updated lists of conferences, schools of social work, and other information.


Related Research and Course Guides

SW 720

SW 470

Counseling @ the Libraries

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 10:57
Please send comments to the Web Team.