Library Hosts Top Scholar Awards Reception

With funding from the Wright State Parents Association and the Friends of the Wright State University Libraries, University Libraries hosted the nineteenth annual Top Scholar Awards reception Friday, April 11th at 5:00 p.m. One student was chosen by the dean of each college as a Top Scholar. Each Top Scholar must have at least a 3.6 GPA and be on track to graduate in spring. Any other criteria used to select a Top Scholar are determined by the deans and may vary by college. A book is purchased and added to the University Libraries permanent collections in honor of each student and includes a book plate with the student’s name and college. The subjects of the books are chosen from within the students’ majors and the books are selected by the libraries’ collection management team. Students’ names and colleges are also added to the online catalog record of their Top Scholar Award book.

All six Top Scholar award recipients were able to attend this year’s reception, along with their families. Representatives from each of the colleges also attended, to share a few words about the recipients and their outstanding scholastic achievements.

Congratulations 2014 Top Scholars!

William Dale Roeser
Management of Information Systems
Raj Soin College of Business
William’s Top Scholar book

Timothy Black Corcoran
Classical Humanities
College of Liberal Arts
Timothy’s Top Scholar book

Ellen Kathryn Scheiderer
College of Nursing and Health
Ellen’s Top Scholar book

Larrilyn Louise Yelton
Biological Sciences
College of Science and Mathematics
Larrilyn’s Top Scholar book

Shannon Marie Miller
Organizational Leadership
College of Education and Human Services
Shannon’s Top Scholar book

Lorelei Anne Turner
Electrical Engineering
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Lorelei’s Top Scholar book

University Libraries, Friends of the Libraries, and the Wright State Parents Association would like to thank everyone who, with hard work, collaboration and cooperation, made this year’s Top Scholar awards possible.