Library Staff Honored

(StAR Award Nominees, winner and Years of Services Honorees in attendance at the May 2nd event.)

On Tuesday, May 2, 2017 the University Libraries celebrated our second annual Staff Recognition Ceremony. University Libraries Administration and the Friends of the Libraries welcomed University Libraries staff for refreshments as we recognized our Years of Services honorees and the Staff Achievement Recognition (StAR) Award recipients and nominees.

This year’s Years of Services honorees included:

30 years of serviceEmma Boddie and Mary Raider
25 years of serviceBette Sydelko
20 years of serviceXimenia Chrisagis
10 years of serviceFrank Wolz

Thank you all for your years of service to Wright State University!

(StAR Award Committee members, Ryan O’Grady and Frank Wolz, presented awards at the May 2nd event.)

StAR Award recipients are nominated by their fellow staff members for their contributions in the University Libraries, above and beyond the call of duty. StAR Award winners receives a $50 gift card from the Friends of the Libraries. This year’s StAR Award winners and nominees represented nearly every area of the library. Each serves a unique role in supporting the library’s mission to provide quality information and research services to the Wright State community. Please read below for excerpt quotes from this year’s nomination letters.

Richard Perry, StAR Award Winner

Richard values working together in a constructive and cooperative manner. He is constantly seeking ways to solve problems that arise within the department. Whenever there is a problem, Richard will be the first to come up with a possible solution or an easier way to do a task.

Lisa Bleeke, StAR Award Winner

In addition to her work as our Business Manager, Lisa volunteered to work a shift at the Reference Desk in order to learn more about library services and work with patrons. This shows dedication above and beyond expectations. Lisa is a pleasure to work with and her knowledge is exceedingly valuable.

Chris Nimmer, StAR Award Nominee

Chris Nimmer has one of the most physical and demanding positions in our library. Each day he processes every book that leaves the library through the OhioLINK Pcirc program, averaging 25,000 items per year. The beginning and end of each term are particularly busy and demanding as Chris processes upwards of 600 requests per day.

Rahme Ashour, StAR Award Nominee

Rahme was a recipient of the 2013 ILL Group of the Wright State University Presidents Award for Excellence. She works in ILL and Circulation with a smile. She also demonstrates and encourages teamwork. Rahme looks for new ways to improve ILL for the Library Faculty and Students and adapts to changes in ILL computer programs. She promotes a favorable image of Wright State University with years of service and enthusiasm in the Library.

Willie Moncree, StAR Award Nominee

Willie has been a Library Technical Assistant for the Content Acquisitions & Management Department at the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library for 20 Years. Willie is dedicated and encourages teamwork in the department and Library with a smile. Willie is usually found at his cubicle with book trucks enclosing the front. Willie is there to hold a door open for other staff. Willie promotes a favorable image of Wright State University with his years of service and dependability to the Library.

David Reyes, StAR Award Nominee

From the very first moment that I have dealt with David he has been creative in his approach to problem solving and always positive. I have come to him several times on a few different projects, and he has always been eager and good-spirited when approaching any issues. He is easy to speak with and he is always willing to engage in intellectual discourse to solve problems.

Jason Lipiec, StAR Award Nominee

Beyond his work with TIDBIT, Jason has also done a great job updating the ILLiad web interface. Due to the reorganizing of the Library Technology Services Department, Jason took over these duties from another staff member. Learning a new software system can be extremely difficult, but Jason was willing to work with our interlibrary loan staff right from the start. His work has been invaluable to the usability of the ILLiad user accounts. Jason is a great person to work with and someone everyone should want on their team.

Phil Flynn, StAR Award Nominee

Phil Flynn is loyal, dependable, dedicated, and conscientious in his work. I’ve seen him working tediously both early before and late after his shifts. He takes his job and the Libraries’ cause personally. He recognizes our policies and ways of operations and he is a stickler for sticking to doing things our correct way because he knows it is in the best light of the Libraries and the Libraries’ cause.

Elisabeth Shook, StAR Award Nominee

Elisabeth’s professionalism and friendliness promotes a constructive and enjoyable work environment. As a member of the ALAO board, Elisabeth positively represents Wright State University and demonstrates her teamwork skills. Additionally, her role in organizing the biannual statewide IR Day illustrates her dedication to the library profession.

Congratulations and thank you to all of our Years of Service honorees and StAR Award winners and nominees!

This year award winners received 3D printed awards, printed in our Student Technology Assistance Center by David Reyes and Frank Wolz. Here are the plans used to print the awards.