Author: donna

New Book Club for 2019-20

Bring a friend and join us for our 2019-20 Book Club sponsored by the Friends of the Libraries, WSU Alumni Association, and the WSU Retirees Association.

When and Where:
Tuesday evenings at 5:30 p.m. in the WSU Paul L. Dunbar Library, Room 441. Snacks provided, bring your own drink (Starbucks in the library will be open).

Salt Houses book cover

What We’re Reading:

September 24th, 2019 – Title: Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips, a debut novel
November 19th, 2019 – Title: Salt Houses by Hala Alyan, winner of the 2018 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction
January 28th, 2020 – Title: What We Owe by Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde, a finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize
March 31st, 2020 – Title: The Widows by local author, Jess Montgomery*

*The author will attend our book discussion

Books –titles will be available from the WSU University Libraries collection so check our catalog for copies. Don’t have a WSU library card? Join our Friends of the Libraries for borrowing privileges or borrow the titles from your local library.

Parking – Visitor parking available in Lot 11, stop at the Visitor Parking Booth in Lot 2 (in front of the Student Union) for a pass.

More Information – call the Wright State University Libraries at 937-775-2380.

Friends of the Libraries Elects New Board Members and Officers

Photograph of 13 Friend of the Libraries Board Members)
Friends of the Libraries Board Members – Back Row left to right: Linda Daniels, Jane Rininger, Richard Hairston, Gary Barlow, Catherine Queener, Glenn Graham, Penny Profitt, Krishel Stout, Toni Walchner, Kathi Herick; Seated left to right: Sue Polanka, Stephanie Dickey, Natalie De Horn

At the annual Friends of the Libraries meeting on April 17, 2019, the Board elected the following new officers:

  • President: Jane Rininger
  • Vice President: Natalie De Horn
  • Past President: Glenn Graham
  • Secretary: Stephanie Dickey

The Board also appointed several Board Members at Large:

  • Krishel Stout, student representative
  • Toni Walchner, staff representative
  • Kathi Herick, community representative
  • Jen Ware, faculty representative, second term
  • Catherine Queener, community representative, second term

We also said farewell to Richard Hairston, our student representative, who will be graduating in April of 2019. Thank you, Richard, for your contributions to the Board.
And a big thank you to our Past-President, Gary Barlow, and President, Glenn Graham, for their outstanding service. Both Glenn and Gary served in these capacities for four years. We look forward to their continued work with the Friends.

2019 Top Scholars Honored at Awards Reception

The University Libraries hosted the annual Top Scholar Awards reception Friday, April 5th. This award is funded by the Wright State Parents Association and the Friends of the Wright State University Libraries. The Top Scholar is selected by the dean of each college and the Lake Campus. Each Top Scholar must have at least a 3.6 GPA and be on track to graduate in spring. Any other criteria used to select a Top Scholar are determined by the deans and may vary by college. A book is purchased and added to the University Libraries permanent collections in honor of each student and includes a book plate with the student’s name and college. The subjects of the books are chosen from within the students’ majors and the books are selected by the libraries’ collection management team. Students’ names and colleges are also added to the online catalog record of their Top Scholar Award book.
All seven Top Scholar award recipients were able to attend this year’s reception, along with their families. Representatives from each of the colleges also attended, to share a few words about the recipients and their outstanding scholastic achievements.

Congratulations 2019 Top Scholars!

Raj Soin College of Business
Joshua Summerfield
Major: Financial Services
Book: Economics of Crowdfunding: Startups, Portals, and Investor Behavior, edited by Douglas Cumming & Lars Hornuf

College of Education & Human Services
Kayla Curlis
Major: Athletic Training
Book: Acute & Emergency Care in Athletic Training, by Michelle A. Clearly and Katie Walsh Flanagan

College of Engineering & Computer Science
Adam Horvath-Smith
Major: Computer Science
Book: Visual Knowledge Discovery & Machine Learning, by Boris Kovalerchuk

Lake Campus
Kayle Heckler
Major: Nursing
Book: Integrated Approach to Neuroscience, by Julian Pittman

College of Liberal Arts
Helena Jenkins
Major: English
Book: Women & Dictionary Making: Gender, Genre, & English Language Lexicography, by Lindsay Rose Russell

College of Nursing & Health
Kristina Brummitt
Major: Nursing
Book: Maternity, Newborn & Women’s Health Nursing: A Care-Based Approach, by Amy Mandeville O’Meara

College of Science & Mathematics
Kaitlyn Herbst
Major: Statistics
Book: Predictive Statistics: Analysis & Inference Beyond Models, by Bertrand S. Clarke and Jennifer L. Clarke
The University Libraries, Friends of the Libraries, and the Wright State Parents Association would like to thank everyone who, with hard work, collaboration and cooperation, made this year’s Top Scholar awards possible.

Library Student Assistant Award Reception

The University Libraries held our biannual Library Student Assistant Award (LSAA) reception on March 15, 2019. Six students were honored with a $500 award.  Library Student Assistant Awards are funded by contributions to the Campus Scholarship Innovation Campaign from the University Libraries’ staff and other donors, with a matching contribution from the Friends of the Libraries.  To date, nearly 400 awards have been distributed totaling over $183,000.

University Libraries’ staff would like to congratulate this semester’s winners:

Heather Cagle, a Senior majoring in Dance
Rebekah Colliver, a Junior majoring in Biochemisry and Molecular Biology
Kathryn Lyphout, a Sophomore majoring in Dance
Krishel Stout, a Senior majoring in Nursing
Daniel Talkington, a Freshman majoring in Neuroscience
Aaliyah Williams, a Senior majoring in English

Pictured above:
Kathryn Lyphout, Krishel Stout, Daniel Talkington, Rebekah Colliver, Aaliyah Williams