Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives

David R. Hopkins, 2007-2017

President David R. Hopkins

David R. Hopkins was appointed the sixth president of Wright State University on July 6, 2006, and assumed the office on February 1, 2007.

Hopkins previously served as provost of Wright State University from 2003 until his appointment as president. As provost, he served as the university's chief academic and operating officer and was responsible for overseeing and guiding all of the university's academic schools and colleges and nationally funded research centers and institutes.

A central theme to his administration was the creation of a culture for innovation throughout the university that is reflected through the development of several Centers of Excellence. Six of these multidisciplinary units were designated Ohio Centers of Excellence by the state and are a reflection of Hopkins' commitment to technology-based economic development in order to help transform and grow the economy of the region.